Social Networks We Use


CT Tech Junkie Feed

NASA’s Orion Spacecraft Completes Successful Unmanned First Mission
Dec 5, 2014 11:30 am
An unmanned test flight of NASA’s new Orion spacecraft was successful this morning, flying higher than any human-rated...more »
2014 Connecticut International Auto Show to Feature Electric Vehicles And More
Nov 20, 2014 9:00 am
State automobile retailers are hoping to educate consumers about the benefits of electric vehicles at the Connecticut...more »

Our Partners


Malloy’s Second Administration Begins To Take Shape

by Christine Stuart | Dec 18, 2014 5:30am
(0) | Log in to Post a Comment
Posted to: State Capitol

CTNJ file photo

Democratic Gov. Dannel P. Malloy isn’t starting his administration from scratch as he prepares for his second term, but there will be some changes.

Since last week a handful of commissioners announced their retirement, a close adviser announced he’s moving on after the transition, but the fate of several remain unknown.

In November, Malloy said there would probably be no more than six changes to his administration. So far Department of Administrative Services Commissioner Donald DeFronzo,  Education Commissioner Stefan Pryor, Insurance Commissioner Thomas Leonardi, and Department of Consumer Protection Commissioner William Rubenstein have announced their departures.

Department of Motor Vehicles Commissioner Melody Currey will take over the Department of Administrative Services.

In addition, Andrew Doba, the governor’s communications director and close adviser, will be leaving after helping Mark Bergman, Malloy’s campaign spokesman, take over the job—which he called difficult under normal circumstances.

Chief of Staff Mark Ojakian, Office of Policy and Management Secretary Ben Barnes, Revenue Services Commissioner Kevin Sullivan, Economic and Community Development Commissioner Catherine Smith, Public Health Commissioner Dr. Jewel Mullen, Department of Energy and Environmental Protection Commissioner Robert Klee, Department of Labor Commissioner Sharon Palmer, Housing Commissioner Evonne Klein, Agriculture Commissioner Steven Reviczky, Department of Social Services Commissioner Roderick Bremby, Department of Transportation Commissioner James Redeker, and Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services Patricia Rehmer will all stay on for Malloy’s second term.

Asked about the fate of Department of Children and Families Commissioner Joette Katz on Tuesday,  Malloy declined to say.

More announcements are expected this week.

Tags: , ,

Share this story with others.

Share | |

Post a comment

You must be registered and logged in to comment
Before commenting, please read our Comment Policy

Login | Register Now

Be the first to comment