Social Networks We Use


CT Tech Junkie Feed

KwickLook Offers Software Tool to Monitor Youngsters’ Internet Activity
Mar 25, 2015 10:30 am
(UPDATED) While it can sometimes seem tricky to navigate parenting in the social media era, one online business is...more »
Attorney General Opens Inquiry into Lenovo ‘Superfish’ Adware
Mar 3, 2015 12:59 am
Attorney General George Jepsen announced Monday that he is launching an inquiry into Lenovo’s installation of...more »

Our Partners

More Campaign Grants Approved

by Jhansi Katechia | Jul 11, 2014 12:57pm
(1) Comment | Commenting has expired
Posted to: Election 2014

CTNJ file photo Two Democratic candidates vying for a state senate seat representing Hartford, Bloomfield, and Windsor received their public grants Thursday from the State Elections Enforcement Commission.

Sen. Eric Coleman and his challenger, Hartford Town Council President Shawn Wooden, will each receive $83,000 for the Aug. 12 primary. Another Democrat, Len Walker of Windsor, has not received a grant yet for the race. He has until July 18 to raise the necessary $15,000 in order to qualify for the full grant amount, but as of Thursday reported that he has not raised in excess of $1,000.

CTNJ file photo The Democratic primary in Hartford, Bloomfield, and Windsor is thought of as the election because generally there are no Republican candidates to challenge the winner of the contest in November.

In addition to Coleman and Wooden, state senate candidates that received program grants include Democrat Sen. Joseph Crisco of Woodbridge and state Rep. Betsy Ritter of Waterford. Republican candidates include Henri Martin of Bristol and former state Sen. Len Suzio of Meriden.

Several state representatives also received their grants Thursday, including Reps. David Arconti, D-Danbury, Henry Genga, D-East Hartford, Russell Morin, D-Wethersfield, Bruce Morris, D-Norwalk, Chris Davis, R-East Windsor, David Yaccarino, R-North Haven, and Hilda Santiago, D-Meriden.

Candidates running for state representative who received their grants include Republicans Gennaro Bizzaro of the 24th District, Aundre Bumgardner of the 41st District, Victoria Lanier of the 23rd District, J.P. Sredzinski of the 112th District, and Patty Stoddard of the 21st District. Democratic candidates to receive their grants included Dennis Bradley of the 128th District, Jeffrey Currey of the 11th District, and David Watts of the 137th District.

Tags: , , , ,

Share this story with others.

Share | |


posted by: state_employee | July 12, 2014  11:11am

why do these politicians get all this money to run for office? 
that’s alot of money.